thegalagals

Simply Celebrate Life!

Back to School Bash

IMG_7297

Get your kids back in the school groove with a fun back to school party!

With school just around the corner, I couldn’t pass up a chance for a fun back to school bash! Of course my daughter agreed and jumped right in on the party planning.

IMG_7342

This summer has been super busy, in fact I think it’s been the busiest ever for us. We ‘ve just been running around and taking advantage of every opportunity to make lots of fun summer memories.  So throwing a party hasn’t fit into my schedule. Now that it’s been a while the party erge has been building within and  when that happens my brain goes into party mode. The only sane thing to do is to just throw a party and move on….that is till the next party!

INVITE

I really do love this party invite.

back to school partyparty invite

A single sheet of lined paper really played our party theme well and more so it was an easy and fast invite to throw together.

BACK 2 SCHOOL BANNER

IMG_7278

Need a quick banner? I recycled my brown paper bags from the grocery store and make these letter cutouts! Fast and on a budget!

SETTING THE TABLE

I’ve said this before and I’ll say it again, I really do love all the party prepping! It’s so much fun to see all your ideas come together.

TABLE RUNNER

IMG_7291

I found this idea online, however it was made out of fabric. Of course it would have been way cute and Heidi would be the one to make this in a jiffy,  but I was in need of something fast and easy….for me! So a long sheet of butcher paper, some markers and a ruler was all I needed to create this table runner.

PLACE SETTING

IMG_7323

I stuck with the traditional school colors like black, red, green and yellow and kept it super simple!

IMG_7321

I think it all came together so well.

IMG_7318

I forgot how wild and crazy a bunch of girls can be. I survived the evening!

IMG_7332

DECORATIONS TAKE FLIGHT

It’s hard to capture the real feel, but the kids noticed them and thought it was COOL!

IMG_7324

Paper airplanes and apple scrapbook cutouts were all I needed to make my dining area complete. Caitlyn and Dad had fun making all the paper airplanes, so it was less work for me.

LUNCH TIME

IMG_7276

Each guest received their own sack lunch! How simple is that, just throw everything in a brown paper bag and of course give it a little flair!

IMG_7328

This little girl makes all the party planning worth it.  She’s my biggest fan!

SCHOOL LUNCH MENU

IMG_7279

I kept it kid friendly by making sure all their favorites were on the menu. Pizza seems to always be the popular lunch day at our school so pizza it was! I decided to throw in a few healthy things like a side salad, carrot sticks and a cup of fruit.

IMG_7330

PENCIL VASE

IMG_7300

These pencil vases are pretty popular these days and since I had everything on hand to try it out I whipped it up quick! Oh and the flowers are right out of my weed garden! Yes, today I am especially thankful for my weeds. They produced these pretty yellow sunflowers for our back to school bash!

SWEET TREATS

IMG_7301

You can’t have a  party without some fun treats! I tried to keep it simple and only make one special treat, but then the ideas took over and I ended up with three!

Apple Sugar Cookies

IMG_7288

A Pinterest find and oh so simple and sweet!

Thanks ‘Living Locurto’ for the great idea!

IMG_7289

Just make your favorite sugar cookie dough. Use a mini muffin pan with mini muffin liners and roll dough into balls. Place in liners and bake at 350 degrees for about 15 minutes. Place a piece of pretzels stick onto with  your choice of a green leaf using either some green laffy taffy, airhead or bake a batch of mini  cookie leaves using some of your cookie dough.

Edible Chalkboards

IMG_7293

This easy treat was my favorite!

IMG_7335

All you need is chocolate, a toothpick and powdered sugar! Just sketch in the chocolate whatever you want then sprinkle on powdered sugar to fill in the words and with a damp towel wipe off the surface clean!

Apple Pretzels

IMG_7271

Since apples were kind of a theme I couldn’t pass this up.

IMG_7268

REPORT CARDS

These report cards became our evening activity.

IMG_7282

It helped us complete each activity before the party was over. Here’s a list of the fun things we did…or were graded on!

TEACHER’S DESK

IMG_7313

Reading

IMG_7339

We took a drive to our local library and picked out a book to read at our party for fun and to get our activities started.

Science

We made GAK and all the kids asked for the recipe to make at home!

IMG_7359

I’m just glad it turned out well!

Step 1: Mix together 3/4 cup cold water and 1 cup glue

Step 2: Mix together 1/2 cup hot water and 1 tsp Borax

Step 3: Slowly add the glue mixture to the Borax mixture and stir well.

Drain off excess water and PLAY!

Math

IMG_7355

Math Twister!

IMG_7358

We put a little twist on the game Twister! I added some numbers and we had a game of Twister Math!

English

it was pretty fun watching these girls play a game of charades!

IMG_7363

Can you guess what Claire is? That’s a mouse face if you can’t tell. Stuart Little!

We included titles of books, popular movies and simple school quotes!

P.E

IMG_7365

Girls just want to have fun so we made sure there was music and enough room for getting physical. These girls love to dance and be silly!

Art

IMG_7374

I put out some beads and ribbon and we made ourselves pretty creative beaded book marks because we all know how much we need to READ, READ, READ!

IMG_7296

I placed all of our activities on a desk so our guests could see everything we had planned for the evening…oh and so I wouldn’t forget to bring anything out!

MAKING MEMORIES

I made this large chalkboard for my girls to doodle on in our back yard.

IMG_7297

I brought in my chalkboard and made a fun photo area for our guests to snap a picture! I like to use what I have so our desk was moved to our kitchen too….You should have seen the look on my husbands face when he walked in! You know the look that says, ‘Oh no here she goes again’

IMG_7313

Though Irelynn is not in school yet she was definitely a part of the party!

IMG_7349

My poster board hat and paper bowtie made the perfect photo memory making set up!

IMG_7342IMG_7341

We had a party full of Class Clowns…literally!

IMG_7340IMG_7347

PARTY FAVORS

How to Survive Going Back to School!

IMG_7314

This was a cute party favor to help our guests get ready for their fist day of school and a sweet way to say Thanks for coming to our party.

IMG_7315

Hope our back to school bash can give you a few ideas on throwing your own party soon!

Here’s to an awesome new School Year!

3 comments on “Back to School Bash

  1. Wendy
    August 17, 2013

    Patty you are incredible!

  2. Wendy
    August 19, 2013

    Tell me how you made your apples with pretzels. I love this treat!

    • pattymaloy
      August 19, 2013

      I love the pretzels too! All you need is a bag of pretzels, a bag of Wilton’s red candy melts, a few tootsie rolls and either a green airhead candy or some kind of green taffy candy to make your leaf. Just melt your candy and dip your pretzels. Place your dipped pretzels onto a cookie sheet lined with wax paper. Place on a piece of tootsie roll( just shape small pieces of your tootsie roll into sticks) and green taffy(shaped into a small leaf). Place in the refrigerator till set and serve! An easy and very cute treat to share! Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

