thegalagals

Simply Celebrate Life!

Cinco De Mayo

IMG_7704

In the mood for Mexican? Here’s a fun and simple menu your family can enjoy!

IMG_7704

Mexican food is a favorite at our house, so when we get great weather we turn on the grill and start cooking! I love throwing together all sorts of colors for a latin celebration, yet this time I chose to keep with a neutral theme mainly because we planned this dinner last minute as a family. I wanted to spend more of my time prepping some great food to enjoy.

IMG_7729

I used burlap to cover my patio table and added a fun bamboo table runner to keep with my natural colored theme. Three terra cotta pots filled with one sunflower became my table centerpiece. It was on hand and super simple. I’ve found when you throw a latin party the food becomes a part of your party setting like the chips, drinks and extra sides. So there is really no need for extra decorations…there is just no room after all the goodies have been placed on the table!

Appetizers

Shrimp Cocktails

IMG_7724

We started off our evening with one of my favorites, Shrimp Cocktails. This easy recipe can be a meal by itself, just add some saltine crackers and your set for a healthy delicious meal!

        Here is the recipe.

(I altered to my taste like using less V8 Juice, but it’s all in how you like your cocktail!)

2 avocados diced

2 cucumbers diced

6 cups Original V8 Juice (I used half since I prefer a chunky cocktail rather that soupy!

1 lbs bag of shrimp, cooked, peeled and deveiled

1/2 bunch cilantro chopped

1 onion, red or white perfered, chopped

Mix everything together. Chill and serve with limes and tabasco

I’m so excited to have the extra leftovers for dinner tonight! This is my new favorite quick and easy meal.

Chips and Salsa

IMG_7712

Now no Mexican meal is complete without Chips and Salsa. There are so many salsa recipes out there but this is one I got from a friend and make all the time.

1 large can whole tomatoes

4- 5 tomatillos depending on size

a handful of hot yellow peppers

1-2 jalapenos, depending on how hot you like it

1/4 bunch cilantro

2 garlic cloves minced

1 small onion, chopped

1 tsp salt

Boil tomatillos, onions, yellow peppers, jalapenos and garlic until soft. Put in blender and add the can of tomatoes, cilantro and salt. Blend well.

Avocado Salsa

If you have ever froze avocados you know that it’s just not the same when your ready to defrost and enjoy! Well, I had a frozen package of guacamole( prepared like you would a guacamole dip and use lemon to prevent from browing). I knew it would not be the same as a fresh avocado so I decided to try it in this avocado salsa. It actually tasted great! So if you ever have an abundance of avocados freeze them and use this recipe to make a yummy avocado salsa to spread on your tacos or chips. You won’t be disappointed!

2 avocados

2 jalapenos, optional since my girls love avocados but not so much the spice!

2 cups water

2 tbl white wine vinegar or lime juice

1/2 white onion

1/4 cup cilantro

Place in food processor until smooth.

Duros

IMG_7714

Duros are a popular Mexican snack that you can fry up and eat plain or add some extra flavor. I like to add chili powder or chili sauce and squeeze a little lime juice on them. They kinda remind me of Funyuns!  You can buy them at most latin markets in fun little shapes. It only takes a few second for them to expand and puff up when you deep fry them!

Drinks

IMG_7713

Anytime we are out for Mexican food my husband will order Horchata. So I decided to try to make it from scratch for him and when he tried it he was surprised when I said it was homemade.

Homemade Horchata

3/4 cups rice

4 cups water

1 or 2 cinnamon sticks

1/2 cup sugar or honey

1 tsp vanilla extract

2 cups water, milk or cocunt milk (I used  half water and milk for a creamier taste!)

Put rice in a blender and blend till it gets to a coarse crumb texture. Add 4 cups water and cinnamon sticks and set in refrigerator overnite. The next day blend the mixture, cinnamon sticks too for about 2 – 3 minutes. Add sugar and vanilla. Strain the mixture with a cheesecloth or fine mesh. Add the 2 cups water. Remember I used 1 cup milk and 1 cup water for a creamer taste. Garnish with cinnamon.

Before you serve always stir. It seemed to set at the bottom quickly so give a quick stir before every serve!

Dinner

Street Tacos

IMG_7726

This meal is so easy to throw together, it makes dinner enjoyable with no stress in the kitchen

For your meat you can use a flank steak or skirt steak.I run down to our local Mexican market and buy the meat already prepared. Whatever meat you perfer, marinate it overnite with OJ, onions, lime juice, cumin, garlic, cilantro, salt and pepper. Sorry for no specific measurement but I just throw in a little here and there!

Grill your meat and slice it up!

I found these mini white corn tortillas at the mexican market here in town!

IMG_7734

Aren’t they the cutest!

IMG_7733

Set out cut limes, chopped cilantro, chopped onions, and your avocado salsa to garnish your street tacos. Serve with rice and beans and your meal is complete!

Desserts

Churro Cupcakes

Dessert is always the first idea on my party planning list! It seems to help me with my theme if there is one for some reason. In this case I went with the colors of Churros! Can you tell with my natural creams and browns!!! This was a fun cupcake to share and it really did taste like a churro!

IMG_7740

Thanks ‘i heart nap time’ for sharing your recipe.

Check the recipe out on her blog!

http://www.iheartnaptime.net/churro-cupcakes

I topped with a fried and cinnamon sugared torilla. It’s my version of a mini bunelo, another yummy Mexican dessert. I’ve yet to find an authentic bunelo recipe that I like.

Arroz con leche

IMG_7711

This is one of my daughter’s favorite dessert. She LOVES rice pudding! Since we were having two desserts I thought these mini shot cups would be the perfect size to enjoy both!

Here’s the recipe from one of my previous Latin celebrations.

Check it out here in my Latin Celebration article.

https://thegalagals.wordpress.com/2012/11/05a-latin-celebration/

This is what my hubby does when I ask him to pose for an article picture!

IMG_7736

He asked not to post this but then maybe if I do he might give me a better pose next time!

I’m hoping my fun family night can help you plan your next yummy Latin meal.

Happy Planning!

Leave a Reply

