She’s Having a… ??!! Party

 Host a Gender Reveal Party! What do you think… Is it a Girl or a Boy??

Is it a …? Boy or a Girl? 

She’s Having a… ??!

My cute friend Katie was pregnant with her 5th baby, and we were all just as excited to find out if she was having a girl or boy as she was. So while she was a little hesitant about the attention, she couldn’t deny us an excuse to eat treats and celebrate! I’ve heard of Gender Reveal parties where even the parents to be don’t know what it is… but we hosted our party the night after the Ultrasound and let the Mom to Be break the big news to the rest of us, including her kids!

Funny side note, I actually found out that Katie was pregnant because my cute friend Shannon sent me a text that said she had dibs on the Shower, but that I was hosting the Reveal, and so it was!

The Invitation

I wanted the Invite to reflect the duality of our theme and colors. So I started with a foundation of Chocolate Brown Cardstock, the card opened in the center with Blue on one side and Pink on the other. The circles on the front were inspired by the polka dots in our table runner too. Finally, we used cute buttons and ribbon to tie the front sides together until ready to be opened!

Once opened, all the details could be found inside… Don’t forget to wear your Pink or Blue!!

What’s Your Guess?

We made this cute board to tally the votes and show each person’s guess! It’s obvious that this group is hoping for a girl, but it also shows our support since many of us knew the parents wanted a girl too!

Pink and Blue Theme

My theme for the party was simple, my main color was going to be a Chocolate Brown with accents of Pink and Blue to represent “Team Girl” vs. “Team Boy!” I loved the look of the Brown set against the Pinks and Blues, but more importantly it determined my menu as well. We knew we just wanted desserts, but now I would make Chocolate desserts and decorate and garnish with Pink and Blue!

Our guest of honor was apprehensive about so much attention and wanted nothing more than to tell us what it is, and go to a movie. So, we compromised, we kept it simple and yummy and then we went to a movie! Plus, she couldn’t deny us a chance to eat Chocolate desserts?

Decorations

The decorations consisted of two simple elements: a cute reversible baby name banner and a cute reversible table runner. I made these both reversible for two simple reasons. One, it was easy to bring in both Pink and Blue for our traditional baby colors for our Team Girl vs. Team Boy theme. And two, I could use either side in the future for an easy Girl Baby Shower, or an easy Boy Baby Shower, or any other Pink or Blue party for that matter!

For the name banner, I cut 6 inch scalloped circles from scrapbook paper using a template. My friend Shannon made the letters with her Cricut and tied them all together with cute Pink and Blue ribbon reversing every other letter to show both the Pink and Blue sides.

The runner is harder to see since it is covered with food in all the pics (Oops!) But I was so excited when I found the perfect fabric for my reversible runner. I found a Polka Dot fabric with Browns and Blues, then I found the same Polka dot in Browns and Pinks! It was meant to be! But I almost couldn’t believe when I found fabric with the same stripe pattern in Brown and Blue, AND Brown and Pink! It almost made itself. I used the polka dot down the center and the stripes for the edges and used the Pinks on one side and Blues on the reverse. To decorate our island of desserts, we folded the runner in half and laid it on the island in a ‘V’ so we could see both sides up. Genius!

Serve in Style, Simply!

In keeping with my plan to keep it simple, I didn’t do a Tablescape, Centerpiece, Place Settings, etc.. So I kept the serving simple, a stack of large Blue plates topped with a stack of smaller Pink plates; they looked cute at our dessert buffet, gave us another way to vote, and helped so we had a way to load up lot’s of yummy chocolate desserts!

With so much Sugar and Chocolate, only two drinks made sense, Milk and Water! I served Milk, Strawberry Milk, and Chocolate Milk in glass carafes wrapped in Pink and Blue wraps. And then I simply had Bottled Water wrapped in cute Pink and Blue Scrapbook paper. I could have added more embellishments, but they were still cute and simple, plus, the paper is perfect don’t you think?

Multiple Party Plan…

Here is my Blue runner side topped with Blue accented desserts! Go Team Boy!?

Even if you are not going to host a Gender Reveal Party, I just gave you two Shower ideas! This is what I now affectionately call my “Go To” Baby Shower plan! I already have the reversible name banner, and reversible runner. So, if I ever need to host a Girl OR Boy shower, especially with little notice, I’m prepared! I could do the exact same thing but with just one accent color. Add in serving pieces in Chocolate Brown plates that I found at IKEA, and your favorite Chocolate desserts and you have an easy party plan! You could use this plan for a Baby Shower or even a simple Birthday Party, 1st Birthday perhaps!? And the best part, you can invest in some elements that could host multiple events, just think of the possibilities!?

Can’t you just see this as a Girly Baby Shower too??

In keeping with my plan, I kept my Menu simple as well. I focused on Chocolate Desserts, combining a couple familiar standbys, as well as a couple yummy surprises! It looked like I baked more since the table was divided. But I kept the desserts for both sides of my table the same, I just garnished/decorated half of each in Pink and Blue respectively.

Menu

Milk, Strawberry Milk, and Chocolate Milk

Chocolate Cupcakes with Vanilla Buttercream (Mini and Standard Size)

Butter Spritz Cookies (just in case someone didn’t like Chocolate 😉

Rich Chocolate Cream Shots

and Chocolate Ice Cream Sandwich Cookies

Butter Rich Spritz Cookies

2 1/2 cups flour

1/2 teaspoon salt

1 cup butter, softened

1 1/4 cup powdered sugar

2 egg yolks

1/2 teaspoon almond extract

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

Preheat oven to 400 degrees F. Sift together the flour and salt and set aside.

In a medium bowl, cream together the butter and sugar. Stir in the egg yolks, almond and vanilla extracts. Gradually blend in the sifted ingredients.. Fill a cookie press with dough and shoot cookies about 1 1/2 inches apart onto an ungreased cookie sheet. If you like, decorate with sugar or sprinkles at this time.

Bake for 6-8 minutes in the preheated oven.

Mini Cupcakes

I love to make Mini Cupcakes for a Dessert Buffet because they don’t seem like quite as big of a commitment on your plate, and when they are good, guests don’t mind helping themselves to more! This way, we could have one pink AND one blue if we wanted! I started with a Vanilla Buttercream , and divided it in half. I frosted half the cupcakes with the white Buttercream and topped them with Blue Sprinkles. I took the other half of the Buttercream and added Pink food coloring before piping it onto my Chocolate Cupcakes!

This was my favorite dessert, and these small shots packed a big punch! They tasted as good as they looked too! I filled the tall double shot glasses with my chocolate cream and topped each with some homemade Whipped Cream. For the garnish, I found a bag of Star marshmallows that happened to be White, Pink, and Blue! Perfect! Also, this recipe was fast and easy to make, decadent to eat, and fun to present, that is a triple threat and definitely one to try!

Chocolate Cream

8 ounces semisweet chocolate, coarsely chopped (good quality chocolate is perfect for this!)

1 cup heavy cream

1 large egg, well beaten

2 teaspoons vanilla extract

Whipped Cream and Garnish

In a medium saucepan, melt the chocolate with the cream, stirring constantly. Whisking constantly, stir in the beaten egg and cook, continue to stir, until bubbles appear on the surface. Remove from the heat.

Pour the mixture into a blender, add the vanilla, and mix on high speed for 1 minute.

Pour the chocolate cream into dessert cups or glasses and chill until ready to serve.

Serve garnished with Whipped Cream and Sprinkles! (It’s great with Sliced Bananas too.)

I made some Standard size Chocolate cupcakes as well. I topped these with the same Vanilla Buttercream and Blue Sprinkles. My favorite detail was the garnish. I found a bag of Star Marshmallows (it was summer) that happened to come in White, Pink (Red), and Blue in small and larger sizes. I simply stuck the larger Marshmallows on a toothpick and used those to garnish my Cupcakes! It used to be that we could choose from Mini or Jumbo Marshmallows, NOW, we get different shapes and sizes and flavors! I love using fun Marshmallows for parties!

Vanilla Buttercream

2 sticks butter, softened

4 cups powdered sugar

1 teaspoon milk

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

1/4 teaspoon salt

In a bowl, combine butter, sugar, and salt and beat until blended. Add the milk and Vanilla, and beat for an additional 3-5 minutes, or until smooth and creamy.

I try to take my pictures before my guests arrive, but in this case, I was also keeping my Ice Cream Sandwiches frozen until my guests arrived. Unfortunately, I didn’t even notice that my fabulous Sandwiches didn’t make it into any of my pictures! Oops!! Sorry, you’ll just have to imagine how amazing they were.

Double Chocolate Cookies

2 1/2 cups flour

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

1/2 teaspoon salt

1/2 cup unsweetened cocoa powder

1 cup (packed) brown sugar

3/4 cup sugar

2 sticks butter, softened

3 large eggs

2 teaspoons vanilla extract

12 oz. semisweet chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 300 F

In a medium bowl, combine all dry ingredients. Mix well with a wire whisk and set aside.

In a stand mixing bowl, blend sugars with mixer at medium speed. Add butter and beat to form a grainy paste. Scrape down sides of bowl, then add eggs and vanilla. Beat at medium speed until light and fluffy.

Add the flour mixture and chocolate chips, mix at low speed just until combined. Do not overmix.

Drop dough by rounded tablespoons onto ungreased cookie sheets, 1 1/2″ apart. Bake for 18-22 minutes. Immediately transfer cookies to a cool, flat surface.

Ice Cream Sandwiches

(If I had remembered to take pics of the Ice Cream Sandwiches, they would have looked a lot like this.)

While cookies are cooling, soften 1/2 gallon of Ice Cream. Once cookies are cooled and Ice Cream is soft, you can put your sandwiches together. Put one scoop of Ice Cream on bottom of one cookie, and top with another cookie. Gently press together until Ice Cream comes to sides of cookies. Wrap in Plastic Wrap and place in freezer until frozen solid. Serve frozen.

For my party, I filled half of the Sandwiches with Vanilla Ice Cream and then rolled them in Blue Sprinkles. For the other half, I filled them with Strawberry Ice Cream!

To garnish my chocolate treats with the Blue accents, all I needed was some Blue Sprinkles and a few Blue Marshmallows! It doesn’t get cheaper or easier than that!

For the Pink accents, all I used was a little Pink food coloring, Pink Sprinkles, and a few Pink Marshmallows! Although, I did also get Strawberry Milk, and Strawberry Ice Cream for the Ice Cream Sandwiches just for the fun of it!

I love this photo, while the kids are debating and taking their last chances to weigh in. My cute friends, Destiny and Heidi, are in the background analyzing the Ultrasound Pictures to get a more educated guess. “Look, See right there??”

Destiny and Heidi were the only friends who would jump in and pose for a picture… Thanks Girls!

And all our crazy guesses and hopes were right, I think Katie enjoyed telling us all that she was indeed having a Sweet Baby Girl! And wait until you see the adorable Baby Shower we threw for her too!!

Congratulations Katie and Family!!

 Now, go start planning your next Party!!

One thought on “She’s Having a… ??!! Party

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

