Pumpkin Desserts- Week 1

Need a few pumpkin recipes? Share your sweetness with family and friends!

Pumpkin Desserts

A Once a Week Treat!

Week 1

My Weekly Pumpkin Dessert Diary!

Last week my family and I went to the Red Barn to pick a few pumpkins! The Red Barn for those that don’t know, is a fun place close to town that sells fruit, ice cream, and yummy treats. They also have a pumpkin patch where you can pick your very own pumpkin to take home.

Well, last week the pumpkins were free. So I decided we needed 6 BIG pumpkins! Everyone else thought I was crazy but they were FREE, I couldn’t resist!

I cooked one down and asked a few of my friends to share their pumpkin recipes. Then I got to thinking… what about trying a new dish once a week? So the dessert adventure began at our house and my goal is to try it out till Thanksgiving. No promises though!

With that, I thought why not share the sweetness. So once a week I plan to invite some family or friends over for a yummy dessert. Remember, I’ve never tried these recipes before so really they are my guinea pigs! It gives my family a chance to show gratitude towards those friends we don’t often see, or at least let them know how much we care and how super grateful we are for their friendship we share.

My friend Dina thought it would be fun for me to try a Pumpkin Chocolate 4 Layer Cake by Carla Hill from the TV Show ‘The Chew’. Oh, and I forgot to say every recipe I try must be pumpkin, since I have to get rid of my 6 FREE pumpkins!

I’m so glad I tried this recipe. It’s a definite keeper! It was an easy recipe that came together quickly.

I served the cake with a scoop pf vanilla ice cream. Best of all, we were able to share with great friends!

Carla Hill’s Pumpkin Chocolate Cake

For the Cake:

In a mixing bowl combine 2 cups sugar, 1 cup vegetable oil, and 4 eggs. Mix well.

In a separate bowl mix the following dry ingredients together.

2 cups flour

2 tsp baking soda

1 tsp baking powder

3 tsp pumpkin pie spice

1 tsp salt

Mix well and then add to wet ingredients and mix until well combined. Fold in 2 cups pumpkin puree.

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Grease and flour two 9 inch round cake pans.

Divide the batter between the two cake pans.

Bake for 35 – 40 minutes or until knife inserted comes out clean.

Cool completely and then transfer to  a cooling rack. I used dental floss to cut each cake horizontally. You will now have 4 rounds of cake to work with.

Mascarpone Filling:

In a mixer, beat 2 cups Mascarpone and 1 cup pumpkin puree until smooth. Add 1 tablespoon of pumpkin pie spice, 2 tsp salt, and 4 cups powdered sugar.  Blend for about 1 minute. Once mixed well, add 1 tsp vanilla extract and beat again for about 30 seconds.

Spread generously onto your cake rounds and layer.

Dark Chocolate Ganache:

In a saucepan combine 3 tablespoons corn syrup and 6 ounces heavy cream. Bring to a boil and simmer. Add 12 ounces dark chocolate. Stir until smooth. Remove from heat and add 1/2 tsp vanilla. Pour over your cake.

You can garnish with crushed gingersnaps.

I also had some Caramel Apple Cider hot and ready to serve!

Week one down, three more to go!

Check back for my next pumpkin dessert adventure!

One thought on “Pumpkin Desserts- Week 1

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

