thegalagals

Simply Celebrate Life!

Pink and Orange Fairy Party

 

What a cute and girly party for your favorite little Gal! We used Pinks and Oranges to highlight our party inspired by Flowers, Butterflies, and Fairies!

Flowers, Flutters, and Fairies

The Invitation

I kept the Invitation cute and simple. For the cover of the fold card, I printed out my info on Vellum and just glued that over my cardstock card. I used a strip of glitter cardstock to add a little sparkle and used jumbo punches to make the flowers. Stick a little bling in the middle of the flowers, and you are done! For the inside, I printed out all the details again on Vellum, quick and easy!

It helped create a mood to get the girls excited, but without a lot of fuss.

The Inspiration

I got the idea to host a Flowers and Fairies party last Spring when all the blooms were hitting the retail stores. I could hardly wait, but I knew it would be the perfect theme for my daughter Claire’s 8th Birthday. So I began planning and shopping, which was actually perfect because I could take advantage of after Holiday and end of season sales and clearances. I’ve decided the timing to planning a party is a very delicate balance between having enough time to shop the deals and keep an eye out for unexpected details, but not so far that I just keep shopping and adding more details. That’s the tricky part for me!

Butterflies

Adding Butterflies and Fairies to our Spring inspired theme was a natural fit, and one more fun motif to work into my decorations and details. I used a Butterfly cookie cutter to cut our tea sandwiches into Butterflies. I used a Butterfly chocolate mold with Orange chocolate wafers to create the butterflies for the tops of my cupcakes. And one of my favorite details from the party were these Fairy wings. I found Pink and Orange wings at a couple local Dollar stores, and by simple attaching them to backs of my chairs, I had instant decorations! We also used them as part of our Fairy makeovers, a part of our activities, and each girl got to wear a set home, favors! Those wings served triple duty for the party… score!!

DIY Cake Pedestals

This was another detail I LOVED from this party. I found plastic cups, bowls, glasses in the Spring merchandise at Hobby Lobby. I bought some plates and glasses at the Spring sales to create serving pieces in my Pink and Orange colors. For the pink pedestals, I hot glued a “salad” plate to the bottom of a “Margarita” glass and turned the whole thing upside down. Presto! Now it’s a fabulous Cake or Cookie pedestal! Naturally, with the hot glue, they were not dishwasher safe, but even with a little handwashing, they have stayed together really well. For my Orange cake pedestal, I used a plastic orange “Goblet” and glued the bottom to an Orange scalloped Charger plate. So easy, so cute, and so cheap! You can use any combination of “glasses,” cups, bowls, and plates to create different sizes and shapes. A little hot glue worked great, but if you want them to be a little more permanent, use an epoxy. The epoxy will be perfect for glass and ceramic too!

DIY Pom Poms

I took my Centerpiece up to my Chandelier again. I simply made some Pink tissue Pom Pom balls. These really are so easy and cheap to make. And there are lot’s of great tutorials all over the internet. So I wanted to tell you how I made my Orange flower balls! I found some Flower balls at a local Interior Design store and thought they were so cute, but they were also $12.99 each. And I knew I could make them, so I set out to try. Now using a styrofoam ball for the base makes perfect sense, but again I wanted to try something new and cheaper. I had some inspiration while at the Dollar Store. I was getting foam balls for my Sports party, when I realized they were the perfect size, price, and even color! I bought some ‘Basketballs’ which gave me a perfect Orange base for my Orange flower balls!

I used some inexpensive fake flowers and prepped them the same way I would for hair clips. I took the petals apart from all the plastic and then secured the petals together with a brad. I then simply hot glued my flowers all over the ball base. I tied a ribbon around it and it was ready for hanging! For the second flower ball, I punched a lot of flowers out of orange cardstock in two different sizes and simply started gluing them all over my ball base. It turned out pretty cute!! Now that I’m looking at the pictures, it may have been fun to also glue a little bling in the centers of some of the flowers, or beads, or smaller flowers, or whatever!! I will be playing with these more, just think of the possibilities!

I simply hung my tissue pom poms and flower balls from my chandelier over the table. I tied them on with curling ribbon and loved the look of a few soft curls of ribbon also hanging over the table.

The Dining Table

I decided that my main focus of decoration was going to be my dining table where the girls would be for the luncheon and treats. I like the idea of focusing my decorations in one area of the house, or even in one focused area. Otherwise it’s really easy to try to do too much, or to even take away from the impact by having too much spread too thin. So find a room, or a table and focus your energy there!

I wanted to build layers and textures with the pinks and oranges and create some whimsy and enchantment in line with my Fairy theme. I originally had an idea to create a full gauzy tent around the table, but then decided that wasn’t very practical with a a gaggle of eight year old girls. So I created that feel by attaching lengths of Tulle fabric to the chandelier and then tied the ends to my table with ribbon. It made the table feel like more of a special place than just a dining table. My pom pom and flower balls attached at the top to the Chandelier as well created the perfect focal piece and pulled my tent effect together.

I attached each girls fairy wings to the backs of the chairs. And I love the way they brought in my colors, theme, and whimsy all in one easy way!

To create the base colors for my table, I was lucky enough to find this fabulous Vinyl tablecloth at TJMaxx. Not only was it a great price, but it had the perfect colors and a cute whimsical pattern! Plus, I loved having the Vinyl for a kids party, it was SO easy to clean! I love when that happens. This is the benefit of planning ahead and having time to shop and discover great elements for your parties!

Since I wanted my Fairy ‘tent’ to be the main dramatic focus for the table, I wanted my centerpiece to fit simply and functionally. I used some cute wired pedestal plates I found, and stacked them in the center to create my centerpiece. From a design point of view, this was perfect, because the height brings the eye back up to my main focus. Functionally, this was the perfect centerpiece too because it provided a place to serve my ‘Tea’ party foods for our luncheon and reminds me of the formal tiered trays used to serve more formal teas. I wove some sheer pink ribbon around the wire details on the plates to bring in even more of my color and theme.

Place Settings

I wanted each girls place to be set simply but personally. I originally planned on using ‘real’ plates and teacups for their ‘Tea’ party but decided I wanted to make cleanup a little easier and bring in more of my colors at the table. So I used paper plates and napkins. I simply layered my plates with alternating colors and shapes. Pink round plates for the base and a smaller orange square plate on top. I simply wrote each girls name on each top plate with a permanent marker. Personalizing doesn’t get any easier than that! I did finish out each setting with a real fork and a dainty glass teacup.

While the name on the plate would have been enough, I did decide to make name cards for each girls place as well. Simple, folded cardstock with each girls name printed on vellum and a little bling on details like dotting the ‘i’s! The best part about these Place Cards is that at the end of the party, I stapled the name card over the top of their favor bags so they wouldn’t get mixed up.

I love elements I can use for more than one purpose!

When I found Pink and Orange bottles at the Dollar Store, I had to use them somehow. I originally planned on using them at the table for their drinks, but when we decided to have a ‘Tea Party’ they suddenly didn’t seem to fit as well. But they were so cute, I decided I didn’t care. They were cute by themselves, but after making these simple wrappers, they were irresistable. I simply made a band with scrapbook paper, and topped that with a punched out flower and butterfly. Cute! I let the girls fill them with candy and treats leftover from the party and take them home as favors! The girls LOVED them!   I saw at least one of the guests carry around her little water bottle for weeks! Success!

Dessert Table

If my dining table was my main focus, the Dessert Table was a very close second! Eight year old girls would have been excited about a cake, but surround that with cookies and cupcakes, and make it cute and they couldn’t wait!

You can see my new Pink DIY Pedestals proudly displaying my cookies and cupcakes. I love the way a little height can make any dessert seem a little more special. Serving foods at varying heights, however you do it, will always add more visual interest to any sort of buffet! I combined my newly made pedestals with some simple porcelain square plates to finish my serving pieces. And believe it or not, my Marshmallow Pops are sticking into a simple round of Styrofoam. Naturally, the cake is at the center on the tallest of my pedestals!

To decorate I topped my Kitchen Island with a piece of fabric with dainty pink and orange blossoms. I draped the front with another length of Tulle fabric and secured it to the sides with more ribbon. I also strung a flower garland along the Tulle just for fun and a little more whimsy. I created a banner with Claire’s name. I simply cut 6″ scallop circles out of scrapbook paper and topped each circle with a letter from her name printed on more Vellum. I attached another punched cardstock flower and tied it all together with ribbon!

Quick and Easy Treats

Cute and yummy desserts do not always have to be expensive or time consuming, and you don’t have to be a pastry chef to pull these off either!

A quick trip to a grocery store and a quick wander down a baking and candy aisle, and you may be surprised at what inspiration you can find for treats for your party! I found Strawberry Cake Mix, Strawberry Marshmallows, Orange Jell-O, and Strawberry Creme Instant Pudding. All easy and PINK (and Orange)! I found Pink and Orange little plastic shot glasses at the Dollar Store and thought they would be fun to play with for perfect little Mini serving sizes! And I was right, I used them to set up my Jell-O and Pudding. Quick, easy, and cute! I also dipped the Strawberry Marshmallows in a the same Orange Chocolate I used to create the little Butterfly cupcake toppers. Quick garnishes of whipped cream and sprinkles and they look ready to eat!

Plus, I told the girls the treats were dusted with Fairy Dust, and the Sprinkles took on a whole other level!

Candy Buffets are always fun, and one of my favorite new displays for a party. I simply filled a set of three glass jars with different candies and treats that matched my theme colors. Pink and Orange jumbo gumballs are my new favorite! Gummy Orange slice candies and Strawberry Marshmallows, it doesn’t get easier. I also wrapped a simple strip of scrapbook paper around each jar to bring in my colors in one more detail.

Sweets and Treats

I’ll admit, it’s REALLY easy for me to go overboard with the Menu, especially when it comes to Desserts! I mean, really? How much sugar do 8 little girls really need!?

Having said that, you wouldn’t be all that impressed if I just showed you a cake! Right? So, let’s have some fun!

I doctored my Strawberry Cake Mix to make these yummy Strawberry Cupcakes!

Strawberry Supreme Cupcakes

(Inspired by What’s New Cupcake?)

1 box Strawberry Cake Mix

1 cup Buttermilk

1/3 cup Vegetable Oil

4 large eggs

Combine all ingredients in a large bowl, and beat with an electric mixer until moistened. Increase speed to high and beat until thick, about two minutes longer.

Use a large cookie scoop to portion batter into muffin pan lined with cupcake liners (about 2/3 full)

Bake at 350 for 15-20 minutes for standard cupcakes.

I piped on my favorite standard Cupcake frosting inspired from ‘Sprinkles Cupcakes’.

Vanilla Buttercream

2 sticks butter, softened

4 cups powdered sugar

1 teaspoon milk

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

1/4 teaspoon salt

In a bowl, combine butter, sugar, and salt and beat until blended. Add the milk and Vanilla, and beat for an additional 3-5 minutes, or until smooth and creamy.

I topped each cupcake with a Chocolate Molded Butterfly and some Magic Fairy Sprinkles!

I originally planned on making Sugar Cookies into perfectly cut flowers and excellently decorated, but decided that Flower Spritz cookies would be faster, and more fitting for a Tea Party. I used my fabulous Cookie Press to make these cute Flower Spritz cookies topped with some more magic Fairy Sprinkles!

Butter Rich Spritz Cookies

2 1/2 cups flour

1/2 teaspoon salt

1 cup butter, softened

1 1/4 cup powdered sugar

2 egg yolks

1/2 teaspoon almond extract

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

Preheat oven to 400 degrees F. Sift together the flour and salt and set aside.

In a medium bowl, cream together the butter and sugar. Stir in the egg yolks, almond and vanilla extracts. Gradually blend in the sifted ingredients.. Fill a cookie press with dough and shoot cookies about 1 1/2 inches apart onto an ungreased cookie sheet. If you like, decorate with sugar or sprinkles at this time.

Bake for 6-8 minutes in the preheated oven.

Birthday Cake!

What would a Birthday be without a Birthday Cake!?

To create my Pink and Orange layers inside the cake, I simply mixed up a White Cake Mix, and divided the batter in half. I dyed half the batter Pink, and the other half Orange. I then poured each batter respectively into two 9″ round cake pans and baked as directed. After the cakes were baked and cooled, I cut each cake in half to create two thinner layers. I then built my cake by combining all my layers by alternating the Pink and Orange cakes with a layer of Buttercream in between each layer. I then frosted the entire cake with a crumb coating (a thin layer of frosting over the cake to set the cake and prevent the crumbs from mixing into the final frosting 😉

To decorate the cake, I whipped up a bowl of Buttercream frosting and added a little bit of Pink food dye. Then I started on top and piped on swirls with a large star tip. When I was ready to graduate to the next color, I emptied my decorating bag back into my bowl and added some more pink dye to create a darker shade of pink and piped more swirls around the edge of the cake around the top. I then repeated the process and added a little yellow dye to create the orange hue and piped on more swirls around the bottom of the cake. I love the way it turned out and think the cake worked perfectly into my party theme and colors. And I couldn’t wait to slice into the cake and surprise my guests!!

Fairy Tea Party

We decided to host our party on a Saturday over lunch, so we could host a Tea Party Luncheon for our Menu. I had TONS of ideas of foods I wanted to do, but in the end I decided the girls wouldn’t eat that much anyway and decided to just keep it simple.

Menu

Mini Carrots with Ranch Dipping Sauce

Peanut Butter-fly and Raspberry Jam Sandwiches

Ham and Cheddar Tea Sandwiches’

Grape Skewers

Pink Strawberry Lemonade

I was thinking of foods that were Pink and Orange and kept coming up with sweets, so I was excited when I actually thought of Baby Carrots! The Baby Carrots were made lot’s more exciting when I served them as individual servings in plastic shot glasses with the Ranch Dipping Sauce already in the bottom of the glass! So cute and fun to eat! And it was a great way to get the kids to eat their Vegetables!

What would a Tea Party be without Tea Sandwiches? I love fancy, yummy Tea sandwiches, but I decided to keep these simple so the little girls would eat them. But I still had to tie them in with my theme so when I thought of Peanut Butter-fly and Jam Sandwiches, we had a winner. I used a large Butterfly cookie cutter to cut these sandwiches into their cute shape. Then in keeping with my Pink and Orange theme, I made Ham and Cheddar tea sandwiches. I simply cut off the crusts and cut them into triangles. Even if you are not having a “Tea Party,” sandwiches like these are a hit with a younger crowd. They are the perfect serving size, making portion control for varying appetites even easier. Plus, they are fun to eat no matter how old you are!

I originally wanted to have Fruit Skewers keeping with my theme, so I got a Mini Flower Cookie Cutter to cut small flowers from slices of Watermelon and Cantaloupe. Perfect, right? Except it was the wrong time of year for Watermelon and Cantaloupe I guess, because I couldn’t find any at the grocery store. I know, I was bummed as you are right now! 😉 So in a pinch, I put some Red Grapes onto the skewers and the girls didn’t know the difference because it’s always fun to eat food off a stick, even if they aren’t flower shaped in my Party colors.

Fairy Activities

Our Fairy theme really came into play the most in our Activities. We didn’t play many games but we had lot’s to do! And all of these activities did double duty, they kept the girls busy and the girls got to fill their favor bags with their finished projects to take home. I planned the activities to transform the girls into their very own Fairies!

I found old fashioned Orange candy sticks, which became our Fairy wands. We simply topped our sticks with Jumbo punched out flowers from cardstock. We glued the petals from two flowers together to make a top for an edible Magic Fairy Wand! Cute and yummy, and oh, so easy!

Every Fairy needs a Flower for her hair, and this couldn’t be an easier project. I found Pink and Orange ponytail holders, and clips for shorter hair. I simply provided a selection of Pink and Orange flowers and had a glue gun handy, and we were set to make some cute and easy Hair accessories!

The girls loved making their own Fairy Crowns. All you need is some Wired Garland (Dollar or Party Store), scissors, and curling ribbon. We created the ‘crown’ by wrapping the garland a few times around their heads and then securing the ends by wrapping them around onto themselves. We cut a few long lengths of the ribbon and tied them on the crown. Then we curled the ribbon to hang down their backs.

I was originally going to make some Glittered Body Gel for the girls for the Favor bags, but I was so excited when I stumbled onto this idea wandering the aisles at the Dollar Store. I was looking for little containers to hold our Body Glitter Gel (simply mix Aloe Vera and super fine Glitter) when I found little Hand Sanitizers, wait, that would work! Instead of getting the Aloe Vera and containers in the wrong color and size, these were perfect! I even found them scented in Strawberry and in Pink bottles and the perfect little sizes for the girls. I just peeled off the labels from the front and stuck on my own hand printed label. Each girl got to sprinkle in her own amount of Fairy Dust (super fine glitter) and then shake and shake!! These were a huge hit!!

Fairy Makeovers

Even though the girls had Fairy Crowns, Wands, and their own Fairy Dust. Their Fairy transformation was not quite complete. Claire’s older sisters were all too eager to help give each of the girls their own Fairy makeover. I found Glitter Hair Spray, Glitter Hair Gel, Glitter Eye Pencils, and Glitter Lip Gloss. They were all properly dusted with Fairy Sparkle and ready to create their own Magic!

I have three daughters, so we are very good at doing the girly thing at our house, and one of my girls favorites are doing Glitter Toes! You’ve probably seen the Gel Glitter Toes, and we have our very own version which is even better for little toes! Simply paint the toes with Nail Polish and Sprinkle a fine glitter over it while it is still wet. You can play with different colors of Polish and Glitter to create fun combinations. Naturally, we used Pink and Orange for our little fairies! Shake off the excess glitter (hint: do this over a folder or cardstock folded in half to keep the glitter more contained and easy to put the excess back in the bottle). Once the polish dries, top off the glitter with a heavy coat of Clear Top Coat. You can even get a Gel Top Coat at Beauty Supply Stores that works perfect for doing Glitter Toes at home! These are always a huge hit. Even when I start these on a normal day, I inevitably end up painting half the neighbor girls toes so consider yourself warned! This is the perfect activity for any girly party, young or old. And consider having some help for this activity, whether from a friend, another parent, or an older sibling or two!

To finish off their Fairy transformation, each girl got to take their Fairy wings from the backs of their chair! Head to Toe Fairies!

Fairy Favors

The girls created many of their own favors. And to keep their projects organized and ready to take home, I had cellophane favor bags on hand. They kept their favor bag at their place at the table and filled it with each Fairy project as we finished. Towards the end of the party, while they ate Cake, I stapled their Place Cards from the table to create their favor bag topper. Perfect!

I sort of spoiled the girls but I couldn’t help it with such a fun theme. Each girl went home with Fairy Wings, a Fairy Crown, and a decorated Water Bottle that held Pink and Orange candy. Each favor bag topped with their own name card was filled with their Fairy Wand, and Pixie Dust Body Glitter, and a little vial of their own Pixie Dust (more glitter) and some more Pink and Orange candy! I sent home seven very happy little Fairies!

Fairy Friends

Just look at the big smiles on a few of Claire’s magical Fairy Friends! That is the sign of a successful party! Sometimes my friends ask why I go through all the trouble for these parties? This is one big reason right here! For me, it’s all about the fun of creating smiles and lasting memories!

Turning EIGHT is a big deal, and I hope Claire had as much fun at her party as I did creating it for her!

Happy 8th Birthday to my Sweet Claire!

Now borrow some of my Pixie Dust and go create some of your very own Magic!!

About thegalagals

We are two sisters who firmly believe that Life is made up of memorable moments, and we intend to Simply Celebrate as many as possible! And we'd love to inspire you to Simply Celebrate Your Life too!

One comment on “Pink and Orange Fairy Party

  1. Pingback: Au Pair » 25 Blogs with Tips for Throwing a Fairy Themed Party

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 7, 2012 by in Birthday, Girly Galas, Lil Gals and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , .
