thegalagals

Simply Celebrate Life!

Holly Jolly Christmas Party

Holly, Jolly and Bright!

Holly Jolly Christmas Party

After setting the table for my Holly Jolly Christmas party theme, I asked my husband what he thought and the first thing he said was, “Who’s this for?”  Well after telling him it’s for us, he just smiled and my daughter jumped in and added, “You mean for you, me, daddy, and grandma?” I realized then, that a festive and fun table setting like this one can really make your family feel HOME and appreciated, and more so I realized that I don’t do this enough! Not every party has to have a guest list. In fact my most important guests are the ones that support me day to day….my family!

Love you Sonny, Caitlyn and Mom!

Holly Jolly Colors

I knew my colors were going to be a bright green and red, hence the Holly Jolly title! These colors are so easily available at this time of year. I wanted something fun, bright and full of Christmas. This was it for me!

Place Setting

A simple white table cloth along with some red chargers and green paper plates put my theme together. I wrapped a plain red cloth napkin with white ribbon. I really liked the candy cane similarity.

Caitlyn was so excited to have dinner. It made me happy!

Center with Cake

A few years ago after Christmas I found this Santa cake pedestal. I’ve said this too many times but I love when a centerpiece can be put to good use, in this case dessert!

White Frosted Lemon Cake – None other than Betty Crocker helped out in the kitchen! The swirls are chocolate I designed on wax paper. Place in refrigerator. They are easy to remove and decorate your cake.

Fun & Frugal

Strolling through the department store during the holiday season can really get you into the Christmas spirit if your not already! I love to see all the new decor each year and get a few fresh ideas. This year I found some really fun wire glittered flowers on stems in all sorts of fun colors. Well I looked at the tag that read $5.00 each! Now that may be reasonable but when you start adding to your cart all the cute decor to match your theme it can really add up so my creativity kicked in and I jetted home to make my own. Crazy? Yes, but I think the results turned out fun!

I used ribbon to make some bows and attached an ornament ball in the middle. I shredded a few sheets of green and red paper and stuffed my vases. A fun lime green garland draped across the middle of the table along with some green candle holders I decorated with ribbon. I know, I’ve been ribbon happy lately. I also brought out a few ornament balls to highlight my Holly! Simply festive!

Sweet Party Favor

These red Chinese take out boxes turned into cute cookie treat holders.

I make these cookies around this time every year for my cousin Michelle. Her “Birthday Cookies” are one of my favorites and since I only make one batch especially for her I decided to let my family enjoy one all for themselves.

Mexican Wedding Cake Cookies

1 cup butter(2 sticks softened)

1/2 cup powdered sugar

1/2 tsp vanilla

2 cups flour

1/8 tsp salt

2 cups chopped nuts

1 1/2 cups powdered sugar to coat

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Mix butter and sugar. Add vanilla. In a separate bowl combine flour, salt and nuts. Stir into butter and sugar mixture. Roll into 1 inch balls. Place on ungreased cookie sheet and bake for 15 minutes or until lightly browned. Roll hot cookie into powdered sugar. Cool on rack and roll once again in sugar to coat.

She couldn’t wait!

Menu

Our family dinner menu was a special one! Boneless Pork Tenderloin Roast with a Cranberry Sauce, fresh Green Beans, and Red Roasted Potatoes.

Shirley Temples

Deck out the Dessert Table

Even though our dessert was the centerpiece I still prepared my buffet with a few extra sweet treats and decorations. Throughout the year I have two pine trees that decorate my front porch. During the winter holidays I bring them in for added fun. This time I placed one on my buffet table along with a fun ribbon craft I unexpectedly got wrapped in. I love the outcome of both my trees! Fun and comical I think for a homemade ribbon tree!

Wassail

After dinner we toasted for a healthy and happy life with a nice cup of warm Wassail.

Here’s a new recipe I tried and it was yummy!

4 small apples, peeled and cored

1 tbl butter

1/4 cup packed brown sugar

8 cups apple cider

8 cups cranberry juice

2 cups orange juice

3 lemons, juiced (about 1/3 cup)

1 1inch piece of ginger, peeled and sliced in 1/4 inch slices

1 recipe Spice Bundles(see below)

Spice Bundle

Gather the following spices in a 6 inch square of cotton cheesecloth and tie with kitchen string.

About 5 sticks cinnamon

2 tsp whole allspice berry

2 cardamom pods, crushed to release the seeds

1 tsp whole cloves

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Fill core of each apple with 1/2 of the butter and 1 tbl brown sugar. Place apples in a 2 quart baking dish and pour 1 cup water around apples. Bake uncovered for 45 – 60 minutes until apples are soft. Cool slightly and quarter each apple. Discard the cooking liquid.

In a 6 quart dutch oven combine cider, fruit juices, ginger, spice bundle and apples. Bring to a boil, reduce heat and simmer covered for 2 hours. Discard spice bundle and strain.

White Chocolate Ice Cream Cups

I melted my white chocolate, spread the inside of a cupcake liner and placed in refrigerator until set. Once ready remove paper liner and place a scoop of ice cream in it and your ready to go!

Thanks Sonny for boosting my creativity! I love ya!

(Grandma was too shy and refused the camera, next time!)

Have a Holly Jolly Christmas!

About thegalagals

We are two sisters who firmly believe that Life is made up of memorable moments, and we intend to Simply Celebrate as many as possible! And we'd love to inspire you to Simply Celebrate Your Life too!

2 comments on “Holly Jolly Christmas Party

  1. lifefullofjules
    November 7, 2012

    it is so beautiful!!!!!

  2. thegalagals
    November 7, 2012

    Thanks! I’m glad you enjoyed it. It was a super fun one for just the family!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 7, 2012 by in Christmas, Holidays and tagged , , , , , , .
