Cookin’ With Mrs. Claus

A  yummy holiday kids cooking party!

Cookin’ with Mrs. Claus

At the last kids party I hosted, if I had given Caitlyn the choice to invite who she wanted, it would have been her entire kindergarten class, the whole neighborhood, and all her cousins. Well, I was the meanest (sane) mom ever. I only allowed her to invite a few friends. Of course, her first choice was her cousin Claire, but then that meant that cousin Abby, Isabelle, and Zach were not invited. Boy, did I feel like the worst aunt ever! However, they never complained (at least not to me). So I promised I would make it up to them with an all out cousin party. The party planning began and the result was a yummy kids cooking party with our special guest, Mrs. Claus…ME!

Invitation sets the mood!

With a sheet of scrapbook paper and some ribbon I was able to create a simple yet perfect invite for our cooking party. All the details slipped right into the apron.

Recipe for Fun

Join us for a fun Holiday Cooking Party

Take one kid: (Caitlyn)

Add: (Special Cousins), clothes that can get messy, a healthy appetite

Mix together on: (party date)

Baking time: (party time)

RSVP Master Chef: (Host)

Dressed to Impress

To get the party started, we all put on our cooking gear. I made an apron and hat for each cook to enjoy at the party and the best part was they got to take it home and use it later to test try their party favor recipe book!

Table Ingredients

The best parties are the ones that don’t cost too much money, right? My husband can vouch for that. Well, most everything I used to decorate this table was right out of my kitchen cabinets. I had so much fun bringing out all my kitchen utensils and designing the perfect cooking party table. All our special ingredients for the evening became apart of our table decor. Everything we needed was ready and at hand for the kids to get cooking.

Place Setting

I placed some brown butcher paper over the table to help with clean-up. A red paper sat on top of their chef towel. I found these baking tins that were the perfect size for their individual lasagna’s. A wooden spoon completed the setting.

Name Tags

I wanted little chalkboards as name tags but when you want a particular item, it’s always so hard to find at that moment, so I made some with cardboard, a little black paint, and popsicle sticks. I loved how they turned out!

Party Favor – Recipe Book

I used pot holders to store a fork and napkin, and right on top, I placed their very own recipe book to test and try at home (with an adult that is!) Here are a few recipes we included.

Taco Pizza

1 lb. lean ground beef

1 pkg. taco seasoning mix

1 ready-to-use pizza crust

1 cup shredded cheese

1 cup shredded lettuce

1 large tomato, chopped

Tortilla Chips

HEAT oven to 400°F. COOK meat with Taco Seasoning Mix as directed on package. Spoon onto pizza crust; top with cheese. Place directly on oven rack. BAKE 8 to 10 min. or until crust is golden brown and cheese is melted. TOP with lettuce and tomatoes. Crush Taco Shells; sprinkle over pizza. Drizzle with Salsa.

Fruit Explosion Muffin

1 2/3 cups flour

2 cups sugar

2 eggs

12 tsp fruit jelly

1 tsp baking powder

1/3 cup milk

2/3 cups butter, melted

HEAT oven to 400°F. MIX the dry ingredients together. In a separate bowl mix butter, milk eggs and whisk until smooth.POUR into dry ingredients and mix well. Spoon a heaping tsp of batter into cupcakes liners, then add a teaspoonful of jelly. Top with a little more batter. BAKE for 20 – 25 min. remove from oven and let cool. Can top with a dollop of your favorite frosting. Recipe from the book KIDS CAN COOK.

Way too Easy Peanut Butter Cookies

1 cup peanut butter

1 cup sugar

1 egg

Mix together and roll into balls and smash with a fork.

Bake at 350°F for 10 minutes. Recipe by Amberly Hadlock

Chef ‘s Menu

Lasagne

Heidi mentioned this idea, and I thought it would be perfect for a group of kids. Everything can be made ahead of time in order to keep up with the excitement and attention span of children. The kids can layer their own mini pan. We also made the lasagna first, so as it baked, we could enjoy our first course, salad skewers!

Isabelle perfecting her egg breaking skills!

Little Chef Zach mixing away!

It’s hot and ready!

Salad Skewers

I personalized each skewer and it added to my practical table decor. Place bowls of olives, lettuce, cherry tomatoes, and any other veggies you think your kids will enjoy and let them decorate their own salad skewer.

Their salad skewers were very cute, and they even ate all the veggies too!

Mrs. Claus No Bake Cookies

Since patience can be short at a kids party, I opted for a quick no bake recipe for fast results! I actually got this recipe from a child not much older than our cooks, so we tested it out and they were super easy to make and the kids enjoyed them!

I think the best part for Abby was getting rid of all the spills that happen so unexpectedly!

No Bake Cookies

2 cups sugar

1 stick butter

2 tbls. cocoa

1/2 cup milk

1/2 cup peanut butter

1 tsp vanilla

2 1/4 cups quick oats

In a pot; heat the sugar, butter, cocoa and milk. Bring to a rolling boil and boil for 1 minute. In a separate bowl mix oats, vanilla, and peanut butter. Stir in the sugar mixture and mix well. Quickly spoon onto wax paper and let set for 2 minutes. Recipe by Hailey Dixon, 12yrs

 


Happy Cookin’

2 thoughts on “Cookin’ With Mrs. Claus

Add yours

  1. This was one of my favorite family Holiday parties for the kids! I’m thinking we might have to do it again this year. A party tip: I purchased my pot holders at the Dollar Store to hold the utensil and napkin.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

