thegalagals

Simply Celebrate Life!

Splish Splash Summer Bash

Splish, Splash Summer Bash

Get ready, Get set, It’s time to get wet!

Summer and water go hand in hand. My daughter has proved this to me these past few weeks of summer. She loves the water and any chance she gets to throw on her swimsuit and splash around she runs for it! She decided that she wanted to have a water party with her friends and of course I couldn’t resist!

Here’s the Gala Gal in training!

So, we sat down and planned the party deets as she would want it. Well, though she had some interesting ideas I had to guide her in a more pratical direction considering the party supplies were coming out of my pocket book!

We put our minds together and planned this fun inexpensive summer bash for her and her friends…OK the whole block… to enjoy!

A Splashy Invite


Our invites were super easy to make. Since this was Caitlyn’s party I wanted to make sure she not only planned the party but put in all the prep work too. Caitlyn helped cut out some of the blue splashes to glue right onto her printed invite. Those friends of her’s might recognize which ones she made!

Fun with Balloons!

One package of yellow balloons made a fun summer outdoor decor!

These two balloon creations added a nice touch to our outdoor party and that’s all we needed!

DIY Sunshine Party Plates

I love these plates. A plain yellow paper plate became a fun party decoration! Caitlyn was even able to glue the yellow strips right onto the back of the plates.

I asked myself the same thing! Why add the extra time and paper into turning these plates into suns when they are just going to be thrown away? Well, when I saw how much they were enjoying them it was well worth all the extra work and simply because it was so darn cute!

Cool Ice Necklaces

These would have been awesome for the kids to have BUT we forgot until after the party I opened the freezer and saw all 15 necklaces sitting on the shelf. Has anyone ever done that before? Oh well, maybe we can do another party…NOT!

These creative splash party necklaces were easy to make. Just fill your icecube trays with water dyed to your favorite colors and lay across a piece of string making sure it is partly covered in the water. Freeze until ready to use!

Summer Munchies


What to serve at a kids outdoor water party? We had tons of ideas yet we stuck with a few simple and favorite all time summer treats that would be simple for me to just prep before and serve quick. When you have 15 kids at your party…there’s just no time for fooling around in the kitchen!

Water Of Course!

Again, I had to add my super fun splash and personalized them to make sure no one lost their water bottle!

Cute Cousin Claire!

Corn Dogs

Most all kids love corn dogs and when you can just pop them in the oven right before the party it’s a score for me!

Watermelon Bowl

I’ve always wanted to do this so I finally got my melon scooper out and dug in!

Jello Popcorn

Here is a Pinterest find that was a success on my part!

Jello Popcorn

12 cups popped popcorn

1(14oz) can sweetened condensed milk

1 (3oz) package flavored jello

Heat oven to 300 degrees. Line a large shallow roasting pan with heavy foil and butter it. Remove all unpopped popcorn. Pour popcorn into pan and keep warm in the oven. Combine sweetened condensed milk and package of jello in a saucepan. Heat and stir over low heat until mixture is slightly thickened and bubbly about 4 – 5 minutes. Pour over popocorn and stir to coat evenly using a wooden spoon. Bake for 20 minutes stirring every 5 minutes.

This is a recipe I found on Pinterest and the only problem I had was cooking it too long. My second batch came out so much better. I let it cook it in the oven for only 10 minutes and stirred it once in between.

Snow Cone Cup Cakes


I received my Family Circle magazine just in time! The last recipe in the book were these creative snow cone cupcakes. I could not pass up a chance to share these with the kids.

Just make your favorite batch of cupcakes, frost and sprinkle on your choice of colored sugar sprinkles. I used a piece of paper cut in a half moon to divide my sprinkles evenly!

A piece of cardboard was used as my snow cone holder. I cut circles evenly spaced and covered with a scrap of material I had on hand. You could also use scrapbook paper! A decorated tin can became my base holder.

Don’t they look real? I loved how they turned out and I think I fooled a few kids too!

 

Wet and Wild Games

We played lots of fun games that simply required water and a few extra simple assessories you might just have on hand already!

Chalk Art Contest

This was a great starter for our party. It began the party games yet at the same time gave us time to wait for those late arrivers!

Pair up a few kids and section off the sidewalk for a fun chalk art contest. Use water to dip your chalk in for a darker shade of color!

Musical Dump Bucket

I’d have to say this was one of my favorite games!

Just like duck, duck goose have kids sit on grass in a circle. Everyone needs to cover there eye’s and hopefully no peeking. One child is chosen to walk around the circle with a bucket of water saying, Splish, Splish, Splish….until he dumps the bucket of water on someone and saying ‘Splash’ as he runs around the cirlce to sit in the other child’s spot!

Sweat Pant Relay

Zach was one fierce competitor!

Grab a pair of dad or mom’s sweat pants and soak them in a bucket of water. Have relay races to see who can run the fastest in soaking wet sweat pants!

…and he made it!

Ping Pong Toss

Two partners fill their cups with water. One starts with the ping pong ball and tosses water and ball as the other tries to catch it with their cup. There’s no dry partners here!

Freeze Tag

Fill a squirt bottle with ice water and play freeze tag…literally!

Human Target Shots!

I laminated number cards and had kids line up as human targets. It was lots of fun trying to hit your friend with water balloons for points!

Fill ’em Up Overhead

This sure to get wet game was lots of fun. Make two lines of kids and see which line can end up with the most water as they pour water over their heads and into their friends cup. Claire thought it was super easy and decided to blow bubble gum at the same time!

Fill ’em Up Buckets

Have a race to see who can fill up their buckets up to the line using sponges or rags!

Water Balloon Pinatas

Though we did not do water balloon pinatas I thought I’d share the idea!

So since you really can’t put candy in a water balloon…well anything is possible…I decided to try something different as our end of party finale!

I placed 3 covered buckets in front of the kids. Two were filled with water and one was filled with candy. We asked them to choose a bucket and I pretended for all three that they were super heavy so they could not tell which one was filled with candy.

This picture captures the water filled bucket! Cool Huh! Thanks photographer Heidi!

This picture captures the bucket of candy!

Yeah…my candy is not wet!

Thanks neighborhood kids for coming over to play with us….until next year!

Here is an after party treat my daughter and I tried out that could be fun to add to your next Splish, Splash Summer bash!

Summer Sky in a Cup!

These blue jello and whipped cream creations can be a perfect treat on a hot summer day! Just make a box of blue jello, let it set in the refrigerator then randomly add a scoop of jello and whip cream to create that perfect summer sky line!

Happy Planning for your next Summer Bash!

About thegalagals

We are two sisters who firmly believe that Life is made up of memorable moments, and we intend to Simply Celebrate as many as possible! And we'd love to inspire you to Simply Celebrate Your Life too!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 5, 2012 by in Birthday, Family, Just Because, Lil Gals, Seasons, Summer and tagged , , , , , , .
