thegalagals

Simply Celebrate Life!

Baby Blessing

Plan a sweet little baby blessing luncheon with some of our quick and easy party tips.

A Baby Blessing

My new baby girl was blessed this month, and I wanted her first party to be special. If she only could realize now that her mommy is a crazy Gala Gal, then she would understand the reason behind all the party madness!

Centerpiece

Since this month was full of life’s celebrations I needed something super simple and my centerpiece lifesaver did the trick. I was able to use this centerpiece for 3 parties in less than a month! Check out my Japanese Tea Party and my Asian Themed Party to see how one centerpiece can help save you time and money on party planning!

Memory Book

For this party, I simply added another color to my pink theme, a pretty sage green. A blessing tree, a memory book, and some fun colored themed desserts… that’s it!

A good friend of ours gave us this pretty green photo book as a baby gift. I turned it into a special memory book for Irelynn to cherish when she’s older!

Blessing Tree

I turned this homemade Japenese cherry blossom tree into a baby blessing tree! All I did was add green paper circles for our guests to write a special message for Irelynn on her special day. Years from now she’ll be able to look back and see who attended her blessing in her mini scrapbook full of notes and pictures.

A simple transformation from my Asian themed party and Japanese Tea Party.

Make Ahead Lunch Menu

When a luncheon is planned immediately following a blessing, there really is no time to get things ready for your guests. They are hungry and ready to fill their growling tummies. So I made sure to choose lunch dishes that I could prep the day before. All I had to do was pull out of the refrigerator and fill the buffet table.

Deli Tray

What a way to stay stress free the day before a party, especially when you have no time to prep before everyone arrives. You can purchase one the day before and pick up just before the party.

Broccoli Salad

This is one of my favorite salads!

1 bunch broccoli

1 cup grated cheddar cheese

1 med purple onion chopped

8 sliced bacon, fried and crumbled

I add a desired amount of craisins and slivered almonds

For the dreessing add 1/2 cup mayo, 1/4 cup sugar and 1 tbl apple cider vinegar. Combine all salad ingredients. Combine all the dressing ingredients. Add together and mix well. Chill for about 2 hrs.

Pesto Pasta Salad

4 cups uncooked spiral pasta. 1 cup fresh basil pesto

2 tbl chopped green olives or tapenade

1/4 cup pine nuts

1 cup frozen peas, defrosted

12 oz cherry tomatoes, halved

Fresh basil leaved chopped

1 tabl olive oil

salt and pepper to taste

Cook pasta according to package. Make sure the water is salted. Stir in pasta and cook until al dente. Put pasta in a bowl . Mix in fresh basil pesto, green olives and pine nuts. Gently mix in cherry tomatoes, peas, fresh basil and olive oil. Add salt and pepper to taste. Chill to serve.

Potato Salad

Cut potatoes into 1 inch cubes. Cover with water and cook for about 10 minutes until they are tender. Rinse and drain. Combine potatoes, 1 stalk celery chopped, 1/2 cup red or green bell pepper chopped and 1/4 cup green onions chopped. Blend 1 cup mayo and 1 tbl dijon mustard. Add mayo mixture to the potatoes and mix well. Sprinkle with a tsp of dried parsley.

Just for kids!

When I have a crowd of kids, I want to make sure they enjoy the party just as much as the adults, so I plan for kid friendly dishes. These were simple and a big hit!

Mac and Cheese

Hotdogs

Peanut Butter and Jelly Crackers

The night before the party I was having nightmares, “Am I going to have enough food?” So I whipped these up just as quickly as they were eaten. Oh, and we did have plenty of food!

 

Party Punch

divascancook.com shared this recipe and I’ll be making it again soon!

1 46 ounce can pineapple juice

juice from 2 cans of pears

25 oz sparkling peach juice, chilled

2 bottles sparkling white grape juice, I used 7 up!

1 pint strawberries

Pears from 2 cans used for juice

Add pineapple juice, sparkling peach juice, and sparkling white grape juice, or 7-up to punch bowl. Drain cans of pears and add juice to the bowl. Stir well and place in refrigerator to chill. Cut the pears and strawberries into large chunks. Thread onto skewers and freeze to use as frozen ice kabobs.

Quick Desserts

My goal was to make my day a whole lot easier since I was crazy enough to celebrate my baby’s blessing on another National Hoilday, Super Bowl Sunday! At our house Super Bowl is an annual celebration, but believe it or not, I chose to skip the party deets on Super Bowl this year and concentrate on FOOD! Isn’t that what Super Bowl is all about, food and boys running around crazy in tight pants? If you’re needing some fun Super Bowl ideas… check out our Super Bowl Party here!

It may be wishful thinking but my hopes are that I make plenty of desserts for Irelynn’s blessing and have enough leftover for Super Bowl …yeah right!?

Anyhow, here are a few desserts I thought were quick and easy for a crowd.

Strawberry Angel Cake Dessert

I’m so glad I tried this cake. I loved it and had quite a few compliments on it! Make it the day before and your set for your party! Compliments to kuchentogether.com for sharing a great dessert.

1 angel food cake

1 3oz box strawberry gelatin

2 cups water

1 10 oz box frozen sweetened strawberries

2 envelopes dream whip

2 cups milk

Make gelatin according to package and refrigerate until a thick syrup, not fully set. Break angel food cake into bite size pieces and place in a large bowl. Prepare dream whip according to package. Beat gelatin with an electric mixer until fluffy. Add thawed strawberries. Fold in dream whip into gelatin mixture. Fold into angel food cake and place in a 13 x 9 cake pan and refrigerate.

Strawberry Cake Mix Cookies

A super simple cookie! Next time I’m going to add white chocolate chips AND not cook so long, so I can get that perfect pretty pink color.

1 Strawberry boxed cake mix
2 eggs
1/3 cup oil

Mix all ingredients together and bake at 375 for 10-12 minutes.

Chocolate Dipped Marshmallows

I found pink marshmallows and knew I could make a quick treat with these. I just dipped in white chocolate and added a few sprinkles. I used plain white and dipped in a little colored white chocolate to fit in with my color theme.

Meltaways

1 cup butter, softened

1/2 cup confectioners sugar

1/2 tsp almond extract

1 1/4 cup flour

1/2 cup cornstarch

Frosting

2 tbl butter

1-1/2 cups confectioners sugar

2 tbl milk

2-3 drops of food coloring, optional

In a small bowl cream butter and sugar until light and fluffy. Beat in extract. Combine flour, cornstarch and gradually add to creamed mixture and mix well. Shape into 1-in balls. Place 2 inches apart on ungreased baking sheet. Bake at 350 degrees for 10 – 12 minutes until bottoms are lightly browned. Cool on wire rack. In a small bowl beat butter until fluffy. Add the confectioner sugar, milk,extract and food coloring . Beat until smooth. Spread over cooled cookies.

We Love Our Precious Irelynn

We are so happy you are finally with us baby girl!

About thegalagals

We are two sisters who firmly believe that Life is made up of memorable moments, and we intend to Simply Celebrate as many as possible! And we'd love to inspire you to Simply Celebrate Your Life too!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 5, 2012 by in Family and tagged , , , , , .
