Ice Skating Party

Gala Gals Articles-0227

Perfect Party for your Little Girl’s Winter Birthday!

Snow and Ice … Twice as Nice!

When I was planning my oldest daughter’s 10th Birthday Party, I wanted something fun but really simple. Her birthday falls in February, and I had been a little burned out after planning the Holiday parties, and had just finished co-hosting the Super Bowl and planning Valentine’s activities. I wanted a break, but how could we not do something for her 10th birthday? So, we started thinking about ideas we could do elsewhere (ie. lunches, movies, activities) anything that I didn’t have to clean and decorate and host at my house. Isabelle decided that she wanted to go Ice Skating … perfect! The local Ice Rink had various packages for Birthday parties and I was excited about how fun and simple this was going to be, but alas, I’m me, so more ideas kept coming and it evolved into another fabulous gala!

Gala Gals Articles-00214

The Invitation

The inspiration started flowing as soon as I came up with my adorable invitation. Since we were going Ice Skating, I wanted the colors to be Icy and wintery, a fun bright blue scrapbook paper background and some metallic silver paper and I was set to create.

Gala Gals Articles-00215

I used some Alphabet stamps for the text on the front, and simply printed the details on the silver paper for the back. My favorite element was of course this cute Ice Skate, I downloaded a free template of an Ice Skate online, and used it to hand cut the three different elements (boot, sole, and blade) and glued them together, a fine point Sharpie created the stitching and to make it extra special, I used eyelets and snaps and ribbon to create the laces. They turned out fabulous!!

Gala Gals Articles-0230

The Party Table

I decided Snow and Ice was just too fun of a theme to not play with it, so the party transformed from simply Ice Skating to bringing cute Icy cupcakes to the Rink, to hosting a Snow and Ice Dessert Bar at our house before we headed to the Rink. I can’t help it once the inspiration takes off in typical Heidi fashion, but I’m so glad we did because it was so fun and so cute, and really not that much work.

Gala Gals Articles-0229

I focused all my decorations around the table where we’d be eating our treats guided by my Wintery Snow and Ice theme.

Gala Gals Articles-00216

I set the table with a blue tablecloth, and used my White porcelain square plates topped with a baby blue square paper plate (for easy cleanup), topped that with a Silver napkin with a snowflake motif (that I bought on Clearance after Christmas, score!) I used plastic punch cups and set them on top of plastic snowflake ornaments as Coasters to bring in my theme and a little whimsy. The centerpiece was a beaded Snowflake runner that I also got on Clearance after Christmas topped with some Snowflake pillar candle holders. One of my favorite tips is to always plan ahead, you can find some great entertaining items at after Holiday clearance sales, save some money and build your entertaining inventory.

Gala Gals Articles-00218

I used my Silver candlesticks, but instead of topping them with tapers, I topped them with some silver Snowflake ornaments. Who knew so many fun Christmas decorations would come in handy for a party in February?

Gala Gals Articles-0236

The Food

When I began thinking and planning this party, my first thoughts are always about food … with snow and Ice, I immediately thought “White” which makes picking desserts EASY because anything Vanilla will work, then I thought about easy garnishes and elements that would also work like powdered sugar and Coconut! I did decide to bring in a little blue to make it fun and a little brighter, since it was a Birthday party for a little girl.

Gala Gals Articles-0227

I could have simply made a Cake or cupcakes and topped them with Coconut, with a good round scoop of Vanilla Ice Cream for a snowball and it would have been perfect… but, what could be more heavenly than an entire Dessert buffet? The kids LOVED it! (And so did the Adults!) And what goes better with a Wintery theme and a buffet full of sweets than a nice cold pitcher of Milk!

Having a Winter inspired Dessert buffet isn’t just a good idea for a Birthday party, or even just little girls … What about for a Winter Game night with friends, or for a fun Girls Night In??

Gala Gals Articles-0228

I had a few candies that fit my theme perfectly, I found a bag of Hershey’s miniatures that came in wintery silver, blues, and greens, perfect and easy. But to make my candy selection even more special, I visited the local Candy Making supply store and found two fun Candy molds that I loved, one for the larger Snowflake suckers and one for these cute little Snowflake medallion candies. I simply melted White Chocolate and some Blue melting wafers and created some yummy chocolates that fit my theme perfectly. You can find candy molds in every shape and design to fit any theme, this is a great way to bring in a very personalized and special treat for very little money and very little time.

Gala Gals Articles-00221

What birthday would be complete without Cake and Ice Cream? But I decided to give them a little twist. I made some yummy Vanilla cupcakes and topped them with a simple Vanilla Buttercream.

Gala Gals Articles-0233

I then dipped them in a bowl with blue sanding sugar, then piped a simple snowflake motif on about half of them.

Gala Gals Articles-0237

For the Ice Cream, I served Vanilla Milkshakes in frosty shot glasses (simply chilled in the freezer an hour or so before the party). For a fun way to keep them chilled, and bring in my theme even more, I used my crystal Snowflake platter, and filled it with water and froze the whole thing before the party, so I served the frosty Shakes chilled on it’s own little sheet of Ice!

Gala Gals Articles-0223

I also made some yummy Snowflake cookies. I have a Snowflake cookie stamp, so I made my favorite simple Shortbread Cookies and stamped them with a Snowflake before baking.

Gala Gals Articles-0235

I also made my favorite Sugar Cookie dough, and cut them out with a Snowflake cookie cutter, and piped on a simple Snowflake with the same Vanilla Buttercream I made for the Cupcakes. Easy and so Yummy!!

March 2010 706

Look at those happy kids! I maybe should have done the treats at the end though, so I could have sent them home after I hopped them up on sugar overload! Hee hee

March 2010 711

What a great group of kids!! Seriously, they were so fun!

March 2010 697

Happy Birthday Isabelle!

Gala Gals Articles-0232

I forgot to take pictures of the individual elements before I packed them in my favor bags but they were so perfect for this party!! So I’ll just have to explain. I decided that instead of the usual party favors that get devoured or trashed as soon as they make it home, I would give them fun and practical items that were inspired by our Ice Skating excursion. I found Creamy Cotton gloves on Clearance that were perfect for keeping their hands warm while Skating. I found some fleece on Sale at the local fabric store in a Snow leopard pattern, so I bought a couple yards and actually made each of them a matching no-sew fringed scarf, they turned out SO cute, and I would easily be able to pick out the kids in our group on the Ice. Having the Winter Olympics in my brain, I made each of them their own “Gold” medal with some ribbon and some Chocolate gold coin candies. I took some of the Hershey Miniature chocolate candy bars and wrapped them with some of my silver paper that I had printed a little message that said, “Thank You, Love Isabelle.” I put all those fun items in a Snowflake printed Cellophane gift bag, and printed a personalized tag for the topper on my silver paper with each of their names, simply stapled them on top to keep them all together. They were the prefect party favors for this party, and the kids absolutely loved them!

March 2010 739

Then we had to open presents, here is the happy Birthday girl!

March 2010 757

After we had had our fill of Sweets, blown out the candles, and opened the presents, we grabbed our gloves and scarves and headed for the Ice Rink.

March 2010 766

We skated for hours, and took the kids home when they were all worn out.

March 2010 760

When on the drive home, a couple of the girls told me it was the best party they’d ever been to, including my baby girl!

And I thought… that is what makes all the effort worth it!

March 2010 701

So if you have a Birthday party to plan this winter, let this inspire you to make it memorable!

Happy 10th Birthday Isabelle!

4 thoughts on “Ice Skating Party

Add yours

  1. I’m really enjoying the theme/design of your blog. Do you ever run into any internet browser compatibility issues? A small number of my blog visitors have complained about my website not operating correctly in Explorer but looks great in Firefox. Do you have any tips to help fix this issue?

  2. Excellent beat ! I wish to apprentice while you amend your site, how could i
    subscribe for a blog website? The account helped me a acceptable
    deal. I had been tiny bit acquainted of this your
    broadcast offered bright clear concept

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

